After the maritime triumph at Cyzicus, the antiquated Athenian general Alcibiades potentially assembled a custom station for ships coming from the Black Sea on a little stone before Chrysopolis (the present Üsküdar). In 1110 Byzantine Emperor Alexius Comnenus fabricated a wooden pinnacle shielded by a stone wall. From the pinnacle an iron chain extended across to one more pinnacle raised on the European shore, at the quarter of Mangana in Constantinople. The islet was then associated with the Asiatic shore through a safeguard divider, whose submerged remaining parts are still visible. During the Ottoman success of Constantinople (Istanbul) in 1453, the pinnacle held a Byzantine post told by the Venetian Gabriele Trevisano. Subsequently, the construction was utilized as a lookout by the Ottoman Turks during the rule of Sultan Mehmed the Conqueror.
The pinnacle, frequently called Leander’s Tower regarding the legend of Hero and Leander (which is set in the Dardanelles waterway, likewise referred to in ancient history as the Hellespont), was annihilated during the seismic tremor of 1509, and afterward torched in 1721. Following that it was utilized as a beacon, and the encompassing dividers were fixed in 1731 and 1734, until in 1763 it was recreated utilizing stone. From 1829 the pinnacle was utilized as a quarantine station. In 1832 the pinnacle was reestablished by Sultan Mahmud II. Restored again by the harbor expert in 1945,the latest reclamation started in 1998 for the James Bond film The World Is Not Enough. Steel upholds were added around the antiquated pinnacle as an insurance after the 17 August 1999 earthquake.
The inside of the pinnacle has been changed over into a bistro and eatery, with perspectives on the previous Roman, Byzantine and Ottoman capital. Private boats make excursions to the pinnacle a few times a day.