Amasra Hosts Big Island and Rabbit Island

Amasra Hosts Big Island and Rabbit Island

Amasra is a charming fishing community on the Black Sea coast of Turkey’s Bartin region. As well as its natural surroundings, sandy beaches, seafood, and unique local salad, it is well known for all of these things. It has recently grown in popularity as a tourist destination, especially among Turks, who throng there to eat fish at the many nearby restaurants, swim, take daily boat excursions, enjoy a pleasant day exploring the town’s winding streets, or purchase wooden trinkets from the bazaar street.

Amasra Hosts Big Island and Rabbit Island

The town’s former name, according to Strabo and Pliny the Younger, was Amastris. In the interim, Homer alludes to it as Sesamus or Cromna. It was located in the historic region of Paphlagonia. Throughout history, the settlement was ruled by the Amazons, the Kingdom of Pontus, the Romans, and the Byzantines. During the First Russo-Byzantine War in the 830s, the Rus destroyed the town. Amasra was subdued by the Seljuks in the thirteenth century. The Genoese ruled the town and the maritime trade in the Black maritime until Ottoman Sultan Mehmed II conquered the entire Anatolian coast in 1460.

2 Days Ephesus Pamukkale Tour From Istanbul

Amasra Turkey

Amasra has two tiny islets: Tavşan adasi and Büyük ada. (Big Island). (Rabbit Island). On Rabbit Island, there are some relics that are believed to be from a Byzantine church, but there haven’t been any official, scientific excavations there yet. The island doesn’t allow visitors, anyway. Although Amasra Castle was built during the Roman period, the ramparts show influences from the Byzantine and Genoese cultures. Amphoras, tomb steles, statues, weapons, and coins are among the artefacts from the Hellenistic, Roman, Byzantine, and Genoese periods that can be found in an archaeology museum.

The Fatih mosque was built from a Byzantine chapel from the ninth century AD after the Ottomans conquered Amasra in 1460. The church narthex is divided into three parts. Gaius Julius Aquila, the governor of Bithynia at the time, constructed the Bird’s Rock Road Monument between AD 41 and AD 54, which is situated just outside the village.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Need Help? We are online here
We have discount on our many tours. Write to us for more details